13 Year old gir declared brain dead has now officially died

rickybobby

Please bring back Tapestry of Nations
Sad case of the tonsillectomy gone bad. Wonder what are people's thoughts about whether she should be kept on ventilator or not?
Proves the old saying "there is no such thing as minor surgery".

What a sad situation. A decision that only the parents should be allowed to make, hopefully without any intervention from courts and guardian ad liters etc.

Sad case of the tonsillectomy gone bad. Wonder what are people's thoughts about whether she should be kept on ventilator or not?

My only thought is her family isn't being realistic and I'm not a big proponent of "pulling the plug" as there are instances where it's done when someone isn't brain dead, but just on feeding tubes in a vegetative state, comatose, etc. And done with court orders. Not the same thing. All surgery has risks, regardless of how routine it is. This is a very rare complication for most surgeries. Her family was apparently told there were risks. Apparently her brain is completely inactive but her family won't accept it. I feel for them all, but they're just prolonging the inevitable.

Forgot the rule!

And I will not answer the question, as my opinion doesn't matter.

I think this is a very sad situation but that the family is just prolonging the situation. The grandmother is a nurse so you would think that she could get through to the parents.

If the brain is not active, I wonder if the body can still carry out bodily functions such as bowel movements?

Still not following?