Keep Moving Forward: A Training Log (Comments Welcome)

lhermiston

Beer-powered running machine
New year, new goals and all that jazz. I've never done a training journal before, but since I know my race schedule in advance and have a gigantic goal one year away, I figured this could be fun, useful and maybe entertaining and informative. Maybe?

About me: husband, father, journalist and amateur photographer. The 2017 Walt Disney World Marathon was my first marathon and, in October, I ran the Lakefront Marathon in Wisconsin.

Training: First two marathons were run using the training guide in "The Non-Runner's Marathon Trainer" a book written by some professors at the University of Northern Iowa that I highly recommend for first-time marathoners. Speed training this winter has been courtesy of @DopeyBadger.

Goals:

- Complete the CRANDIC Marathon on April 29, 2018 (marathon No. 3) - ACHIEVED
- Complete the Bix 7 in July 2019 (Bix No. 4)
- Complete some distance of the Iowa City Run for the Schools in October (5K, 10K or half, tbd)
- Train for and complete the Dopey Challenge in January 2019
- Achieve a 4-hour marathon time. PR is 4:22. - ACHIEVED - new PR: 3:47
- Listen to my body and remain injury-free.
- Run 1,000 miles in 2018

I'll try to post at least weekly. If I can get it figured out, I'll post some of my Disney and travel photography to mix things up a little bit (if anyone can help me figure out how to post from flickr, that'd be much appreciated!). Comments, advice, feedback, questions, etc. are all welcome.

Last edited:
Welcome! Excited to follow your journal! I studied journalism but ended up going back to school for social work, a few of my friends remain in the sports journalism field, however.

I believe that you can embed your Flickr photos into posts. If you click the image that looks like a landscape (it's to the right of the emoji button) that should let you put in a link to a photo, which will post the photo!