Adding DDP with Cdn ticket discount

musika

Everybody wants to be a cat.
Hi everyone,

Please bear with me, I'm new to booking Disney. Here's our situation - we are planning to buy the discounted tickets for Canadian residents, and stay onsite at Pop in April. My understanding (so far) is that if we did want to use DDP, we have to call in to book a "ticketless package" in order to retain our 20% ticket discount - is that likely to change the room rate?

Our travel style is generally eat on the fly when we're hungry, and we have a 6 and 2 year old so will not be going to any signature restaurants and will likely only try 1 -2 TS ones in general... But, staying at pop the default dining plan is going to be QS anyway. I am hoping to do at least 1 character meal, maybe 2 depending on what's available.

So... is it worth it to go through the rigamarole of calling in order to use the DDP? Or should we just stick with buying out of pocket? For our family, I think the key pro for DDP would be allowing me to relax and not nickel and dime our food choices. But, I also feel like we might not get the overall value out of it either. DH is a big eater, but the rest of us are average.

Any thoughts? Apologies if I've put in the wrong spot.

First off, when you're buying the dining plan, you can buy any plan you want; there is no default based on where you are staying. It's only FREE dining that is tied to where you stay, and you're not eligible for that since you're buying tickets elsewhere.

The 2 yr old will not get a dining plan, so you're looking at just the 3 of you. If you think the 6 and 2 yr old will split an adult meal, then buying the QSDP might be a cost saver. You can get adult meals with a kid's credit at QS meals as of right now. Disney could find a way to enforce their "kid's must use kid's menu where available," but for QS meals they aren't enforcing it right now.