Alaska on the Wonder - August 7th, 2017 **Updated thru Last Day at Sea**

woody64

DIS Veteran
Because I have benefited from other trip reports I thought I would add my own. This will be a picture intensive thread but will NOT include any picture of food. I'm a serious amateur photographer but food is not my thing. I also tend to write shorter vs. longer so if you want details I may have left out (because it makes sense in my head but not on paper) please ask or any other questions.

Here are my plans for this report and the schedule of our trip:

Cast: Me, DW, DS1 (22), DS2(19) - our 4th DCL trip, 1st on the Wonder, first 3 on the Magic
  • Day 1 (8/4)- Fly from Chicago to Vancouver
  • Day 2 (8/5)- Vancouver
  • Day 3 (8/6)- Vancouver
  • Day 4 (8/7)- Sailaway (finally!)
  • Day 5 (8/8)- Day at Sea
  • Day 6 (8/9)- Endicott Arm
  • Day 7 (8/10)- Skagway
  • Day 8 (8/11)- Juneau
  • Day 9 (8/12)- Ketchikan
  • Day 10 (8/13)- Day at Sea
  • Day 11 (8/14)- Back to Chicago

Day 1 (8/4)- Fly from Chicago to Vancouver
We were up before dawn for our 7:50 am flight from Chicago ORD (O'Hare) to Vancouver on United with a connection in Phoenix. Despite the storms the night before creating havoc at ORD, our flight showed on schedule. Sweet! Once we arrived at ORD, not so sweet. Our flight was delayed (weather/equipment scattered everywhere) but we would still have time to make our very tight connection. Unfortunately, by the time we (and United!) boarded we knew we would miss our connection in Phoenix. Our travel curse for our last 2 cruises continues!

Once we arrive in Phoenix, United has tickets for our next flight waiting for us...in 4.5 hours...to San Francisco then to Vancouver! I asked for food vouchers and was given $40. I'll spare everyone the very boring details butafter sampling a few beers in Phoenix and SF we finally made it to Vancouver...at 10:30 pm, 8.5 hours later than scheduled. I hate United!

Unexpected view leaving SFO
36831503325_ea738d0df3_h.jpg