Animation Art

edfroncz

Earning My Ears
I am new to collecting Animation Art but I am intrigued would like to start collecting Disney pieces, particularly cels and similar. What is the best way to find them? I know there are a lot on the internet but are there also collectors' shows? Auctions? Any others ideas?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Ed

I started collecting Disney animation cels in 1977 and had a collection of over 150 at one time. Here are some sites we've enjoyed working with over the years - https://vegalleries.com/ is based in Sherman Oaks, CA and has a great selection of animation (Disney and others). They also have auctions from time-to-time where you may participate online or 'live' over the phone during the actual auction. http://www.animationsensations.com/ is based in Washington, DC and also offers a great selection of cels. Philip Weiss Auctions - http://www.weissauctions.com/ - is an auction house based on Long Island, NY where you may also participate live during the auctions. They have a wide variety of auctions with the occasional animation pieces as part of the process ,so you'll want to get on their email list for upcoming auctions. Christie's Auctionhouse in NY also has occasional auctions where Animation Art is sold.