Anyone willing to share how much they spent?

ToyStory3

DIS Veteran
Hi - I've been trying to price out some of the ABDs for a family of 4 (2 adults, 1 teenager, 1 child). But, I'm trying to get a better idea of what I should expect realistically (spending $, etc.). I'm very new to this so not sure I'm thinking of everything. We are looking at either Greece, Italy & Switzerland, Ireland or Scotland. They all seem to be in the same ballpark price-wise. Is anyone willing to share what they spent on any of those ABDs altogether? Thanks in advance!

In Greece, we spent almost nothing. It was maybe $500 (that included OYO meals, souvenirs, etc.). In Peru, we probably spent $1500! There was just so much we wanted to buy. We thought Peru was possibly the new normal but I think we spent no more that $500 on the trip we just returned from (Alaska). I think it really depends on the trip. In Peru, we bought art work, a lamp, and all kinds of stuff. In Alaska, we really bought no souvenirs and ate at simple, local places on our own time.

I know that does not really help but it lets you know once you make that initial large investment, there doesn't have to be a lot of additional money spent. In fact, I think we spend less on ABD than we do a Disney Cruise once all is said and done.

Let me know if you have more specific questions.

Are you asking about possible costs of meals for on your own time? Or a complete figure such as ABD tour, tips for the two ABD guides, flights, pre & post nights & OYO meals?

I think the most we've ever spent just for OYO meals and incidentals with ABD was about $300 for two people, and that may be figuring too high on that total. I've never kept a list of expenses per trip, but that's not a bad idea for the future!

If you include pre-nights and post-nights to your trip, that adds to the overall expense since you're paying for a hotel room for extra nights plus meals.