Batwoman Comes Out

cleo

<font color=blue>Egyptian Beauty Queen<br><font co
I'm new to visiting this board but I really would love your thoughts on something I heard on PBS yesterday. Seems DC Comics is going to bring Bat Woman 'out' and announce she is a lesbian.

Now, before there are any misunderstandings, I just want to clarify my intent. It isn't the idea of her 'being a lesbian' that causes me to wonder, it's the idea of ANY comic book super hero's s*xual orientation being made the focus that baffles me. These are primarily children's comic books. I would not want my young children to be reading about Clark Kent's wildest fantasies with Lois Lane, either.

I'm wondering if this is something the gay community feels is long overdue, or if it seems a bit pointless. Please take my question with the sincere curiousity behind it. I really am quite interested to hear your thoughts. :)

Dear Cleo,

Good question.

First of all, it's been a very long time since comic books were just for kids. There are maturity ratings on the comics these days, and some of the mature stuff is really mature. It's an art form like any other, and can be simplified for kids or made as adult and complex as any other art form. There have been extraordinary works done in this medium, like Alan Moore's Watchmen and From Hell to Chris Claremont's X-men sequence. It's a medium that's coming into its own.

Secondly, I don't feel this is long overdue. This is, in fact, a continuation of a trend that's been around a while. There are quite a few characters whose orientation has been well established.

Being gay isn't about anyone's 'wildest fantasies.' It's about who you love. Who attracts you, who you long for, who you want to be with. It's about how society sees you, and how that affects how you see yourself. But mostly, it's about who you love.