Booking Question

gmk82282

Earning My Ears
Hello. This is my first time posting. I’m not sure if this is the place or type of question to post, so if it is not, please just politely let me know. Ive seen some unfriendly responses on other boards which have made me a little skiddish to ask a question on line, but I don’t know where else to turn.

We’ve been DVC members since the 90’s when they first started. I’ve always done basic ressies and my family has benefited with a lifetime of memories. This year I want to do something a little different and I’ve been reading the boards every day during lunch, and I’m completely overwhelmed.

We own 150 at BWV, renewal month is September.
Current situation:
141 2017 banked
150 2018
150 2019
150 2020

I was hoping to book TWO 2br units for 4 nights November 8-12 at Beach Club. I understand I can’t do that until 7 months out. I don’t really have too may alternatives, right? Is posting a request on the board really a viable option? If I do that and someone accepts, I pay them back with cash, right, not a transfer of points?

I am thinking I’m better off booking at BWV with the 11 month window. Is that my safest bet considering I have many people counting on this trip? If I call on December 8th, to book for November 2019, will I be able to book using 2018, 2019, and 2020 points? Or am I limited to the #300 2018 and 2019 points?
Will it be hard to get these units?

Last question...my banked 2017 points...I can’t really use them between now and September. Will it be fairly easy to rent them using one of those companies? There is one I’ve been in touch with and it seems too easy to be true.

Thank you in advance. I’m sorry this is so long, and I know it’s not a huge or lengthy trip, but to us it’s very important as we will be bringing family together from different cities.