Brand new to ABD

Daisybell911

Paging Mr. Morrow!
Hi everyone! I’m brand new to ABD and have so much to learn. I’ve submitted a request to book the 9/10/21 trip to Krakow, Prague and Vienna and I’m super excited! Are there tips that you think I should know? I‘m planning on arriving a day or two before the trip to get used to time change. Should I book the same hotel as where we will be staying for the first night? Does ABD contact us to plan anything? Should I look for certain things when I purchase travel insurance? I went back a few pages and didn’t really see any newbie tips so if you have any to share, I’d appreciate it!

Are there tips that you think I should know?
Book your insurance and airfare with ABD if you prefer full refund in case of cancellations.

Should I book the same hotel as where we will be staying for the first night?
If you want to stay in the same room and have the included breakfast, then yes. Or you can book on your own and save money and ABD will still pick you up at the airport. Depending on the hotel, you may or may not be able to use your rewards benefits or get points, you can always ask at check in. I've always booked with ABD, because with all my kids, I prefer not to move all our luggages. I like doing pre-trips also, but since COVID, I'm more hesitant on doing this because of cancellation.

Does ABD contact us to plan anything?
Not really. I think those on river cruises have choices to select. Otherwise, they will contact you if there are major changes to the itinerary, cancellations, or you are missing documents or have expired passports. They will give you the full itinerary (used to be a real book but now I heard it's virtual?) and a box of gifts.

Should I look for certain things when I purchase travel insurance?
There is a thread about buying OYO or ABD insurance. I listed pros and cons based on my experience.

There are many here with so much experience. I bet they will chime in!

Are there tips that you think I should know?