Camera experts....

ddisney333

#1 fan of Maleficent....
What speed film do you recommend for a Disney vacation? I have APS Camera. We will be taking pictures of the kids, fireworks, kids on rides, characters etc. Any help is appreciated.

I'm by no means an expert, but we use 400 speed on our Advantix camera. Die-hard camera experts will tell you that the faster speeds yield grainier shots, but that's really only if you enlarge them really big. 400 is great because it works well when you're moving, and you can use it in a wide variety of lighting levels (with the flash if it's dark). Slower speed films give slightly crisper pictures (with some blurring in the background), but they have to be used in areas with good lighting and little or no movement.

800 (without the flash) is necessary for fireworks or rides that don't allow flashes, but you'll be able to get enough shots to capture your vacation on film with 400.

Buy about twice as much as you think you'll need before you go. Advantix film is extremely expensive at WDW. You'd be better off buying extra and having to throw a few rolls away because they expired than buying many rolls there.

I just wanted to agree...I think 400 speed film is the way to go. I used to always use 200. One year I bought some 400 and 800 to try out. The 400 was an improvement, but I was disappointed in the photos that I took with 800. Between the upgrade in film and a new camera, the pictures I've taken in the last year have been great!

I have used 400 and 200. I think that I like the 400 but I never get the pics enlarged more than 5x7. I guess if you were going larger they may get grainy. That is what I hear but I am an ameture and not very good so I am happy with my 400 because of the shots you can take while on the move. I did have terrible shots of the fireworks with 400 so I would get 800 and take the whole roll . You can get shots of the parades at night and they come out great.