Can someone tell me what this is growing in my flower bed??

Maggimus

DIS Veteran
Can someone please tell me what this is that just came up in my flower bed? We seeded for flowers this year and they are coming up. However we have no idea where this came from or how it got there. Someone told us it was a weed. But its got these vine-like-arms coming from it and right now its making me wonder what it is. Is it going to take over my entire flower bed?? Should I pull it up? Is it just going to vine around my mailbox or what should I do??

Help is appreciated!! (PS. Overlook the weeds- no wait, dont-- that might be one big weed itself!!)

DSC00912.jpg

I'm no flower expert, but if you are talking about the Vine??? It looks to me like the Morning Glory Vines I have planted in the past...they have heart shaped leaves like the ones in the picture.
Maybe you planted Morning Glories?? If so this Vine will go crazy. I love them, but wouldn't leave them in the flower bed. You could if your willing to train it up a pole or trellis and keep it under control. By the way, here in N. Illinois Morining Glory vines are an annual. The flowers on the vines I have planted were the "Heavenly Blue" variety and are very pretty!:goodvibes

Take them and wrap them up the mailbox pole, that is where I usually put mine.

You can see the mailbox right there in the photo.... it seems too far away from it to do that... should I try and dig it up roots and all and move it over there?

So everyones pretty sure its a morning glory vine? I have never seeded or planted one of those-- but this is pretty neat!

Wait, dont morning glory vines take over like honeysuckle and cutzoo (sp?).... so wont this look bad if i leave it?

People actually plant Morning Glory on purpose?!?!? Around here it's considered a weed! ;) And it surprises me that it's an annual, because it comes up in the same places every year. Maybe there are different types?

So I want opinions-- would you take them out or leave them?