Close in time for Nov/Dec trip?

Bmlors

Mouseketeer
DVC Silver
I am a newbie to purchasing DVC -- recently made an offer for OKW and found out today that Disney exercised ROFR so am back to the drawing board. We are planning a trip Nov 27-Dec 4 and will be wanting a 2 BR at OKW for that week.

I am looking at other listings today and will likely extend an offer to one tomorrow. For those of you experienced DVC members/buyers, is it likely that I'll be able to close and then book the stay we want? Or we will be too late and the 2 BR at OKW will not be available by the time we close (which I'm assuming will be late April-ish)?

Any advice would be appreciated...we are committed to making the trip during that week and would like to purchase DVC to do this trip (we've rented DVC in the past). But if I can't get it done for this trip, I will likely either rent again or book at some other resort this time around...taking the time crunch off the DVC purchase. Thanks!

My impression: in April, you're still likely to be able to book the 2bdrm OKW since you aren't going into it until after the Thanksgiving weekend.

Since I also have a contract at OMW going through ROFR, can you tell me more (points, points available, price per point, how long you waited)? Thanks!

You may be ok, but that is very busy dvc times so the sooner the better. I closed in July and was able to get a 1 bedroom for my 4 day split stay.

Unfortunately you don't know if your next contract is gonna get ROFR'ed too.

The days which you are going are in a high demand week, so if you wish to ensure that you have a room, i'd suggest that you rent the points and should you have your account setup in time, you could rent out your own points to offset the cost of the rental.

I would rent again and hope for the best. Once you close on the purchase, you can either bank the points or rent them out.

Select the best UY for your vacation patterns.
Buy where you love to stay.
Book at 11 months.