Companion pets for kids with ASD ??

mbb

<font color=green>Wishin' & Clappin' & always Beli
We're in the early stages of welcoming a furry addition to our family:) for our two boys.....as in, we haven't told the kids yet;)

One of our OT's suggested a companion dog for us a year or so ago, but at the time, both boys- they just turned 7 - were unable to handle proximity to our neighbour's dog. He's a big loveable galoot (the dog, not the neighbour;)) and since then, with some people training, our guys have fallen in love with the whole canine species.

Does anyone out there have experience with this? Or know of anyone who does? I'd appreciate any help:)

:sunny:

I have no experience but would love to know more. Would this dog be trained similar to a see and eye dog?

I have heard of them being used with autistic children but wasn't sure if it was effective with the ASD or not.

A service dog is not a companion dog.
A service dog is not a pet
A service dog is not a therapy dog
A service dog is be trained to do specific things that mitigate a disability.
The ADA does not define service dogs

AND

To use a service dog you must be disabled as defined by the ADA and SCOTUS.
The Supreme Court (SCOTUS) has very narrowly defined disabled. Become familiar with the law before expecting access to places of public accommodation with what you call a Service Dog.

videogal1 said:
A service dog is not a companion dog.
A service dog is not a pet
A service dog is not a therapy dog
A service dog is be trained to do specific things that mitigate a disability.
The ADA does not define service dogs

AND

To use a service dog you must be disabled as defined by the ADA and SCOTUS.
The Supreme Court (SCOTUS) has very narrowly defined disabled. Become familiar with the law before expecting access to places of public accommodation with what you call a Service Dog.