Concerns flying with Peanut Allergic Toddler (and EPIPEN)...

Rockafeller

On the count down to my boys' 1st trip to Disneyla
there's just got to be other parents out there with kids with Peanut Allergies so I thought I'd ask some questions here. I just found out that my 2 1/2 year old is SEVERELLY allergic to Peanuts (we always carry an epipen with us)(thankfully we found out by having allergy skin prick tests and not because we actually tried peanut butter or something). My concern is we are going on a flight (6 hours) next week and this is my first time flying since being aware of the allergy. I've never had to actually use the epipen before and I know that if you use it you need to seek medical attention immediately. What if by chance he had a reaction on the plane? I asked my doctor and told me I was over reacting....and can't live my life like that...what if, what if, what if. He told me to let the flight attendants know that he has a peanut allergy and to bring our own safe food on the plane and he should be fine. I still don't feel comfortable. I'm not totally panicing about this but would feel a little better if I knew what happens after an attack. I also asked if I should have a back up epipen, he didn't think it was necessary but gave me a prescription if I felt it was. Anything, anyone?

My last flight i had was only one hour long and they made an announcement that they wouldn't be serving peanuts for snacks, only pretzles and for anyone to please not eat peanuts. I think you could tell them you have a baby who is severly allergic and they would do the same thing.

I have 2 DS have life threatening allergies to ALL NUTS...they are 14 & 12.