Curious...how did you all start swapping here?

mycutiepatooties

DIS Veteran
As a newbie, I am just wondering how this swap area got started? How has it evolved over time? How long have you gals been doing this? I'm so impressed with everyone's work and how organized all the swaps are.

Hmmm...I signed up for my first swap in April 2007. I observed for a number of months before I took the plunge. I am not sure how long the swaps have been around...

Since I started, I think as a group we have become more organized, we host a wider range of swaps, and we have all improved. I think the hostesses have done a great job setting up swaps that we as swappers are interested in joining. ALso, the mangement of the swaps is superb. I think this is the main reason we have so few flakers.

Personally, swapping has forced me to think more creatively and to try lots of new techniques that I most likely would not otherwise have tried.

Totally argee with Susan on her comments. I started my first swap for the second time on here on October 2007. About 2 years prior I was swapping here and another board for over a year doing nothing but swaps. I got burned out, so I took a 2yr hiatus, missed it, and have been back. I only swap here and do not do as many as I use to.

I do have to say that they are soooooo very few flakers here. I seriously can only think of one in the two years I have been going at it again. The hostess here are nothing but superb.

I can't believe how long I've been doing this.
I started right before my first trip in 2006. I've never scrapped before let alone made swap items. I had no idea what most of the elements were. I thought double matted meant first layer plus two. Not realizing that the photo would be the first and then two layers. :rotfl2: I made lots of extra items in the beginning to try my hand at the different elements. If I messed up one, I figured there would be at least something usable in all the stuff.