Do the HS kids wear varsity letter jackets where you are?

KelNottAt

<a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ
Back when I was in high school (late 70's/early 80's) varsity jackets were everywhere. Athletes (boys and girls) wore them with pride.

They don't seem to be wearing them these days. I wouldn't have noticed, except a few days ago we actually saw a couple boys from a rival school with theirs on. They were the only ones I've seen in this area in the last 12 - 15 years.

So, what gives? Around here sports are very popular. That makes the absence of letter jackets even odder...to me at least.

Can anyone explain?

They are pretty popular here still. I went to a highschool football game a few months ago and they were everywhere. I graduated high school 10 years ago and wore mine all the way through. But I was a band geek. ;)

~Amanda

Around here sports are huge! But it seems each sport the kids play ended up getting jackets for that particular sport. Letterman jackets seem to have fallen by the wayside. They still sell them but my DD did not get one(even though she's the athletic one of the two). She chose to frame her letter with the pins instead.

They are pretty popular here still. I went to a highschool football game a few months ago and they were everywhere. I graduated high school 10 years ago and wore mine all the way through. But I was a band geek. ;)

~Amanda

You mean you were in the band and got a letter? That's cool. Way back in the dark ages they were just for the jocks. I like the idea of expanding eligibility.

I think a letter jacket was the first thing offered that would take my $ that my middle son ever turned down. He was a pretty good athlete and has his letter and the little subsequent year/sport things up on the wall of his bedroom. The letter jacket did not fit his sense of style; he also turned down at Art Honor Society T-shirt b/c he thought it looked stupid.