Elderly parent - 1st time whellchair?

sam08223

Mouseketeer
Planning a trip to WDW Jan "05 w/ DW. Mother-in Law and my Parents. MiL is beginning to have some trouble getting around -- her walks are getting shorter and she tires fairly quickly. We're considering a wheelchair for parts of our WDW visit(AK & Epcot are Big!). I'm a total novice when it comes to this -- Where are wheelchairs available? At the Resorts? or at the Parks? Do you need to reserve in advance? I think she'll be ok board the Disney buses but we would want to have a wheelchair available when she needs it. Thanks

I'm sure Sue M or someone else will post links but generally if you are going to need a wheelchair most of the time it is best to hire offsite. Also if you are not used to pushing a wheelchair it can be tiring as the parks are not level and even a slight incline seems horrendous by the end of the day. This is ok if there are a lot of pushers amongst your party so that you can take turns but otherwise you may want to consider an ECV. These can also be hired offsite and are usually easier to manage than the Disney ones, they allow the person using it to remain independent and you can also use it to put all the bags etc on.. the disney transportation can accomodate wheelchairs and I think usually ECV's so that would not be a problem. Wherever you decide to get it from I would strongly recommend either a wheelchair or ECV, Disney is exhausting for the fit and capable your MIL will have a much more enjoyable time with one.

Sue

I second the idea of an ECV. WDW is BIG. You will get very tired just pushing the chair from the room to the bus.

Stacey

You may be better off renting an ECV, as pushing a wheelchair can get very tiresome, especially if you are not used to it. Also it depends on the weight of the passenger and the condition of the pusher(s). Some information for off-site rentals are:

Here are the urls and phone numbers:

Walker Mobility:
888-726-6837
www.walkermobility.com