Flickr changes/alternatives

OKW Lover

Retired and living 2 miles from The Castle.
DIS Lifetime Sponsor
Just got an email from Flickr that my free account will be limited to 1,000 pictures.
Free accounts will soon be limited to 1,000 photos or videos. Flickr isn't Flickr without the contributions and participation of our free members, and we remain committed to a vibrant, free offering.

Looking for alternatives. What does everybody else use?

It's not free but I use my own web space. Actually I have two, one includes a domain, email, etc. and the other one is with photo album software (jAlbum. Not expensive and really good software by the way). Free alternatives might be Google Photos and some of the print services allow sharing of photos, Shutterfly for example. Photobucket is another popular choice though I have no experience with that one, it doesn't appear to be free though(?). There is also Smugmug and Imgur, again, I have no experiences with these other than seeing them from time to time.

It may be a case of "you get what you pay for" these days especailly with large numbers of photos. Many "free" services seem to be working on how to in business.

Last edited:
Are you considering the location as your primary storage option? If so, paying for it is most likely worth it. Especially ease of access. Their 1TB option is what, $50/year? Basic cloud storage, w/o the interface and access functionality, costs $100+/MONTH for the same 1TB.

Yeah, it was dirty of someone to say, back in April, that they wouldn't charge. But, then again, a business stays in business to make money. I think it's crappy for those who have had a really long presence but not too many other options that aren't equivalent cost.