Help! Need compatibility info

FreddyMercury

Former Cast Member
I’m very new to this game and I’ve been researching a new lens to buy. I was really leaning towards the Sigma 30mm 1.4. And then I found that Sigma has a 16mm 1.4 and that sounds like something I’d be more interested in. Here are my questions: Should I go for the 16 over the 30? I like the wider FOV, but it seems like a lot more people go for the 30. But my big question that I can’t find the answer to anywhere is CAN I USE THIS LENS WITH A CANON REBEL T3I?! Is this a dumb question? I can’t find answers.

With Sigma lenses for Canon, DC means it's designed for crop sensor. DG means it's designed for full frame. Yours is a crop sensor.

To further complicate it the full frame lenses will work on a crop sensor, but crop sensor lenses won't work on a full frame (generally speaking).

I'm not familiar with the 16, so can't comment on the image quality. With regard to focal length, that's really just a matter of personal preference. I generally prefer wider, but 30 isn't bad. It's pretty close to a normal field of view to the naked eye, similar to the 50mm on a full frame.

Unfortunately, that Sigma 16mm F1.4 Contemporary lens isn't currently made in your mount. It was one of Sigma's newer lenses designed so far specifically for mirrorless mounts, with 2 versions available for Sony's E-mount and Olympus/Panasonic's M4:3 mount.
The widest current options I know of for Canon that are F1.8 or faster are 24mm F1.4 lenses - made by Canon, Sigma, and Samyang/Rokinon, plus a few 24mm F1.8 versions. You can go down to 14mm prime, but it's slower at F2.8.
I do love the Sigma 16mm F1.4 - I've for so long been stuck using 30mm or 35mm fast primes on APS-C, and always wished I could get something wider and still fast. Since I've gotten the Sigma 16mm, I have pretty much used it as my only fast prime for indoor & night & dark ride shooting.