just back, quick thoughts

i just got back from my first ever trip to disneyland--i'm a WDW veteran, so it's my first time to the west coast. we stayed in the disneyland hotel for 4 days, but with 3 day tickets. i just wanted to jot my thoughts down since a lot of it was fascinating to me!

- the first thing that struck me was how it's set up incredibly similarly to universal orlando. you have the nighttime entertainment district you can reach from the hotels (citywalk and downtown disney), which then leads to an esplanade with two parks right across from each other (USF and IoA, DLP and DCA). i think disney springs and both citywalks, orlando and hollywood, are better for actual nighttime entertainment but downtown disney is respectable and i bought a nice piece from the wonderground gallery!
- next, i noticed how the upkeep is generally a lot better in DLR than it is at WDW overall. not that WDW is bad at all, but DLR in general feels much more preened and procured. (also, there's that weird gross sewer smell in epcot's starbucks for some reason. nothing like that here, at least)
- the disneyland hotel was really stellar--having stayed at the three "monorail" hotels in the past (contemporary, grand floridian, and polynesian) the service was comparable, if not on the same level. the rooms were also very spacious and comfy, and i loved the "kiss goodnight"!! i also ate at steakhouse 55, which was amazing. i'd kill for another slice of that 24 layer chocolate cake. the history behind was also super amazing, since the current theme is disneyland itself! all those nods and artifacts were incredible to see. overall, an amazing stay!
- maxpass is WAY more convenient than fastpass+; since we were on florida time we got up early in the morning and hit all the e-tickets we wanted to. that's all i really have to say. definitely worth the price!