Labour Day weekend trip... and some questions

lilsonicfan

DIS Veteran
Hi all! I'm new to the DLR forum, spending most of my time these days in the DCL forum instead. I am planning a trip for around Labour Day weekend this year. We did a couple of days at DLR in May 2017 but really without any sort of pre-planning. We also spent 5 days at WDW in Nov 2017. I've browsed around a little here and am already overwhelmed! So I'm wondering whether it's going to be so insanely crowded that weekend/days before/days after. I guess it's hard to say with SWGE opening...

Some stream of consciousness questions:

1. Will I regret the Desert Inn and Suites? Reviews seem on the "okay to meh" side. Proximity is majorly important for me; we have done the Hojo and Park Vue Inn but both are twice as expensive for this trip for our family of 5. As is the Candy Cane Inn and the BW Park Plus.

2. Flying: it's a tad cheaper to LAX but I feel like SNA is worth a bit more money to avoid the chaos that is LAX....?

3. Number of days. Current plan would give us 4 full days in Anaheim, but thinking of only doing a 3 day park hopper pass - will I regret not adding that 4th day.... I could potentially extend the trip by a day. I am the Disney lover in the family, but my kids (6, 7, and 10) love rides, that being said, this would be our first stroller-free trip and I'm not sure they can do the all day touring, which is partly why the proximity is really important to the hotel.

I'm sure I'll have more questions at some point! Thanks all!

1. Will I regret the Desert Inn and Suites? Reviews seem on the "okay to meh" side. Proximity is majorly important for me; we have done the Hojo and Park Vue Inn but both are twice as expensive for this trip for our family of 5. As is the Candy Cane Inn and the BW Park Plus.
Hard to say. CCI and BWPPI are my "go to" places for off-site. I have had good experiences and do not care to chance it on other options at this point.