Mid-June Weather: A Dilemma

kbmartin

DIS Veteran
Hi there! My DH and I are starting to plan a 2019 trip to Japan. I need to preface this by saying that I am a teacher, and although I can take a couple of days off, my vacation time is limited to school breaks (Christmas, Easter, and Summer).

When we started to think about a trip, we thought summer would be the best time to go until I found out that summer is extremely hot and humid in Tokyo. Some people suggested that it was WORSE than Disney World in August. :scared::scared::scared: This scared me, as my DH and I have traveled to WDW in August the past three years, and we have vowed to avoid it for future trips if possible, as I do terribly in the heat. Over the past few years, we learned a lot of tricks so that we would not get heat sick, but I don't want to experience that again. :sunny:

We decided that over Spring break/Easter would be a good alternative, but I would have to take two unpaid days in addition to two paid personal days off of work. This would make our trip much more expensive, though. Also, my DH's personal days (private sector job) roll over in May, and in 2019 he will gain an additional five days off. Based on my break, we would just miss Golden Week at the tail end of our vacation. None of this information made an April trip the most optimal, except for weather being cool and manageable.