Need help in recreating Floridian landscapes in NE Pennsylvania

kittythepoohbear

Mouseketeer
Hello all! I am a gardening newbie that recently inhereted my late FMILs garden when I moved to PA. There are a few overgrown shrubs and a sturdy little rose bush but not much else so I have a lot of freedom when it comes to landscaping and planting. A big dream of mine is to create a small Floridian/Disney garden in a back corner of the yard that can also extend into the enclosed deck with potted plants. Here's the rub - we are in Zone 5 and have very cold winters and unpredictable springs. I know that a lot of the plants and flowers I think of when I think Florida (hibiscus, gardenia, plumbago)would not survive out here. :(
I would appreciate any advice on plants and flowers that fit the theme that would tolerate a zone 5 climate. Searches on various gardening sites online have just left me confused. :headache: Also, how easy would it be to grow Birds of Paradise, orchids, and such in a potted garden on the enclosed deck? It is completely enclosed with windows so it retains heat pretty well although it is far from a greehnouse. Any info and advice would be a tremendous help. I figure if anyone out there would know how to accomllish this, it would be a fellow DISer! TIA!

Hello all! I am a gardening newbie that recently inhereted my late FMILs garden when I moved to PA. There are a few overgrown shrubs and a sturdy little rose bush but not much else so I have a lot of freedom when it comes to landscaping and planting. A big dream of mine is to create a small Floridian/Disney garden in a back corner of the yard that can also extend into the enclosed deck with potted plants. Here's the rub - we are in Zone 5 and have very cold winters and unpredictable springs. I know that a lot of the plants and flowers I think of when I think Florida (hibiscus, gardenia, plumbago)would not survive out here. :(