Newbie to boards and booking travel

KingstonGirl77

Earning My Ears
Hi I have been a long time lurker and finally registered. I was so happy to find a board dedicated to Las Vegas! DH and I are planning a Las Vegas Trip for the end of April (18-23 or 25-30). From reading this board sounds like MGM Grand will suit our budget but I am still open.

I am a newbie to booking air travel. From what I can tell the best way for us to go is out of Buffalo,NY (drive from Kingston, ON) then fly SouthWest direct. I wanted Jetblue Syracuse but there is no direct flights.

The only thing about SouthWest that concerns me is the no assigned seating. I understand I have to check-in 24 hrs beforehand but their website says "for eligible reservations only". Will I know I have an eligible reservation when I book? Any help or tips from any of you experienced travellers would be greatly appreciated :flower3:

The unassigned seating is not so bad. Just think you're saving at $100 in booking fees.

For $10, Southwest will do the check-in for you. This means that you will get a better boarding position.

Normally, the business class board first. Then, the rest begins in Group A, B, and C. By paying the extra money, you may get a better number to board early and choose a seat of your choice.

LiLi:littleangel:

Hi I have been a long time lurker and finally registered. I was so happy to find a board dedicated to Las Vegas! DH and I are planning a Las Vegas Trip for the end of April (18-23 or 25-30). From reading this board sounds like MGM Grand will suit our budget but I am still open.

I am a newbie to booking air travel. From what I can tell the best way for us to go is out of Buffalo,NY (drive from Kingston, ON) then fly SouthWest direct. I wanted Jetblue Syracuse but there is no direct flights.