Parking Fees, Resort fees and other hidden fees , getting larger and harder to find

Nomadsz

Earning My Ears
HI
I have been travelling to Orlando/ Kissimmee are since 1994 normally staying every other year and stayed all over from Hotels on I-drive and the 192 to houses near Champions Gate. However, in all this time I have never been charged a resort fee or parking charges.
I have been looking around bonnet creek and nearby hotels and suite properties near WDW. 3 to 4star.
However, it seems that all properties in and around WDW are now charging resort fees, parking fees and even cleaning fees for some of the villa and suite style accommodation. When did a nightly room charge and state taxes become not enough for these establishments? For example, the Hilton Bonnet Creek for a parking and resort fee adds up to $74 per night. that's another $1036+ sales tax for a 14-night stay for one room and for a family with two rooms $1666+sales tax . But this took some investigation. Perhaps we can start a listing those hotels that are not charging additional fees and name and shame the money grabbers. that are adding up to another 80% to the daily cost for a room with these fees.

I can understand parking fees since not all guests have a car, but resort fees are straight out deceptive marketing to make the room rate appear cheaper. They aren't optional and every guest has to pay them. Just include it in the room rate. And don't try and tell me that the resort fee includes "free" Wifi or "free" breakfast. It ain't free if you're charging me for it.

We always stay at rental properties in the Disney area so no parking fee, no resort fee. There is sometimes a cleaning fee. I'm fine with that and some owners will waive it for longer stays. Plus the nightly rate is so low that it's well worth it. So if you want to avoid all the fees the hotels are tacking on, consider renting a condo, town house, or pool home.