• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Photograhy Experts PLEASE!!!

BraveMom3

DIS Veteran
I'm really interested in finding a SMALL (as in tiny) 35mm camera that I could take to WDW, keep comfortably in a case on my waistpack, and DOES NOT have red eyes in every picture. I've got a pretty small one, with zoom (also want that feature), but has terrible red eyes even with the so-called red eye-reduction feature. Any suggestions? Thanks!

I'm not an expert, but...

I just bought an Olympia Stylus Epic 80 after reading another thread on this board. It is about 2.5" tall, 4" long and 1.5" thick, give or take a half inch each. I carried around in my pocket the day I was taking some test shots around town and it was great. The pictures all look good and tehre was no red eye in the ones I took at home. There is a zoom as well, which I really wanted.

Aas you can see from my screen name;
I am a PHOTOGRAPHER!!!!

Here is my advice:

1st of all, even with a $900 camera, I still get red eye in some pictures.
The red eye that you see in certain pictures is the reflexion of blood vessels at the back of the eye. It is caused in dark situations when the subject is looking directly at the camera. Children have red eye more often because in dark situations their pupils dilate more than adults.

Here are a few hints to reduce it:

Try taking pictures at an angle from the subject

Make sure that redeye reduction is actually turned on when you use your camera.(you cannot beleive how many people think it is on when it is not)

If all else fails
Cut out a piece of wax paper the EXACT SIZE of the flash on your camera and tape it over the flash using INVISIBLE TAPE (very important)
This may help to difuse the flash enough to avoid red eye but not too much as to loose the intensity of the flash.

If this still doesn't work,