Planning a potential solo trip.

Keren

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone, I'm new to the DIS forum and came across this lovely area for solo travellers.

To get a little bit of a background I'm a single woman and desperate to go back to WDW and just Florida in general. I'm very independent and do enjoy my own company at times! My friends all have boyfriends and aren't enthusiastic about doing girls holidays as they'd rather go away with their partners. This is why I am planning on going to Florida on my own. So I have many questions to ask you solo travellers!
I'm very active and probably won't spend much time in my hotel as I love exploring!

1. Is 2 weeks too long for travelling solo?
2. My biggest worry was eating alone. Does anyone have any tips about eating in places?
3. I have always been to Florida with family and it is normally a tradition that we go as a family but understandably my parents don't want to fork out for my sister and I. I have always been willing to pay my way but my sister is another kettle of fish.. which makes my parents reluctant to go as we would have someone missing. How does everyone else feel about going without family?
4. How did travelling solo benefit you?
And...
5. I will probably be staying onsite next year.. if I want to do a bit of shopping or go to universal, is it generally safe for a young female to go out and about?

If I think of anymore questions I will ask :)

Many thanks!
KLY.

We have done 2 weeks with Disney and never set foot in a park:
2 nights at VB
7 night DCL
5 nights at BCV.

If you are going to do US/IoA/CW be sure to book a stay at one of there onsite hotels for their FOTL access and early park entry.

Depending upon what you are into, things you can do at WDW without going to the parks:
sports: golf, mini-golf, fishing, marathon, bowling, ESPN Club, WWS/ESPN Zone, etc
shopping: DTD, area outlet malls, large scale malls