Points Required for a Night's Stay

Thelma Liske

Spectacular Grandmother of 11
I am new at all this. We just put an offer in on the resale of points at AKL. I notice there is a chart of the points required for a stay in 2017 and also a chart for the points required for a stay in 2018 and they have all the same values. Do the points required for a stay ever change or just the price of the points themselves? Also I've seen a couple of points about 25 direct sale points. What is that all about?

I am new at all this. We just put an offer in on the resale of points at AKL. I notice there is a chart of the points required for a stay in 2017 and also a chart for the points required for a stay in 2018 and they have all the same values. Do the points required for a stay ever change or just the price of the points themselves? Also I've seen a couple of points about 25 direct sale points. What is that all about?
The points for a given resort for the year stay the same but the amount required for a given night or given week can change. I'd buy a cushion of points in most situations, normally 10-20%, sometimes more. I'd do a higher end cushion if one is targeting lower seasons and/or studios, likely no cushion or even buy less than I think I needed for a 2 BR premier season.

The total number of points cannot change. The number of points required to stay in any given villa type at any particular time of year (season in DVC talk) can change. It doesn’t happen often, but it has happened - a couple I’ve read about:
Most recently SSR divided their villas into 2 categories - preferred and standard, w/ preferred costing slightly more pt.s per night than before the change and standard costing slightly fewer points than before the change.
Awhile ago at AKV they reclassified some of the savanna views to standard view - so the points had to be refigured slightly to balance since there were fewer expensive pointwise savanna view villas after the change.