Question for my fellow teachers

PrincesCJM

DIS Veteran
I'm a high school math teacher and as much as I hope that we will be back in the building in September, I'm looking/planning ahead. I am not currently teaching live online but want to be better prepared to do so (especially if my school starts to require it). Currently, I record videos with screencastify, use their built-in pen to write on the screen, and include the videos in my presentations. But it's awful to write with the trackpad so I'd like to look into getting a digital pad and stylus. I've done some research online but was wondering if any of my fellow teachers have recommendations (good or bad). I think ideally I'd like something wireless so I could use it anywhere in my classroom and not be glued to the laptop (if it matters, it's a MacBook Air)

One thing to think about when you're using a stylus is that you don't see anything under your pen. You see it on your screen. Think of it (if you're old enough, lol) as having to write on an overhead, but not be able to see what you're writing under the pen, just on the screen. It's a skill that takes some getting used to, particularly if you pick up your pen, as that's essentially like picking up the mouse and placing it somewhere else, but the pointer is still where you picked it up.

What about videoing yourself writing on paper? Or is there any chance of the schoolboard getting some kind of smart board for teachers? Or, is that exactly what you're looking for and I'm totally off-base with my previous paragraph?