Sailing solo

BelleMom

DisCon cosmic commando
Solo cruising: a trip report

The cast:
Me: 40, journalist, divorced, 3 kids.

Background info
I have been travelling on my own since I was 16 and went to the US for the first time. Years later, when I graduated in college, I decided that after working my way through graduation, I really deserved some off time before tackling the realities of job search. I went to Europe with a backpack, a train pass, and some hundred dollars, planning to spend 3 months. I ended up staying for a full year. After that, I got married but hubby never was too interested in travelling. I went by myself to Greece, Yuguslavia, North of Africa, Argentine, Uruguay and Peru. After kids, I stopped for a while, but resumed my solo trips with divorce. Once a year, the kids stay a full month with dad. That’s when I take off.

Why cruising solo?
I took my first Disney cruise with DD in 2000. Belle was six. We had spent some fun filled days in WDW and then took a three day cruise aboard the Wonder. Much to my surprise, Belle enjoyed the activities at Oceaneers Club even though she didn’t speak English at all. That afforded me some precious time on my own, at the adults’ pool, at the spa, and even a bit of the clubs. I realized that this could be a perfect vacations for a solo traveller, since you can choose to do as much or as little as you want while on the ship. It is true that Disney cruises are more geared to families, but for a solo traveller like myself this is a guarantee of a healthy, safe environment, perfect for relaxation. Three days was too short. I wanted to do the 7 day cruise> But having decided to attend DisCon, the 4 day option was the most convenient.