SAILING THE BRITISH ISLES CRUISE--WITHOUT THE KIDS! 2018

disneymomto5

DIS Veteran
So, I've never written a trip report before, but I thought I'd give this a go! We sailed on the British Isles Cruise, Sept 2-9, 2018. It was a bucket list event for hubby and myself and we had a great time. We did miss the kids (18 and 14), but they had high school and school had just started, so they had to stay at home under the care of their older brother and grandparents.

The beginning will be a little different. My son and daughter in law are stationed in England, so it gave us a chance to visit with them and do some local sightseeing. We flew British Airways from Washington, Dulles, non stop. Left on the 26th at 10:30 and arrived at Heathrow at 10:00 am the 27th of August. The flight was good, we tried to sleep as much as possible, but that is so difficult, mostly we dozed on and off.

Made it through customs without incident and my son was there to meet us and off we went to his home in Bicester, England. It's about an hour from the airport and sitting in the back seat watching him drive was an experience!!! There are very few roads with speed limits and many, many roundabouts. Even my son said he's not sure when you're supposed to go! When we arrived at his house I let him know that I would be traveling in the back seat wherever we went!

Once we arrived we visited, walked around their town and neighborhood, got our first taste of fish and chips, and made it till about 7 until we had to crash! I thought all things considered, that was pretty good.

Now, cell phone service...I had Virgin Mobile so I knew I wouldn't have service but would have to hook up with the wi fi. It wasn't necessarily a problem, but there were many times when I had no ability to send messages, and other times when I would received a message and I had no idea why. It was challenging to stay in touch with home base but luckily I had prepared them for that possibility.

DAY 2: STONEHENGE