Saving $ on APs by Buying Tickets at UT and then Upgrading

Long Beach Mike

Mouseketeer
Hi All,

I recall seeing posts in the past of people buying discounted tickets for US with UT, and then upgrading to an AP once they got to US. I believe the ticket they were buying was a buy 2 days, get 2 days free ticket.

I believe the benefit was you were are paying for a 2 day pass, but credited with the value of a 4 day pass when upgrading.

Can someone explain how this works? I am not trying to circumvent US rules, but if this is a legitimate upgrade that can also save $ I'd love to know how it works.

I also believe there was an issue about with when the UT tickets expired. FYI, I am travelling 4/3-4/10/18, and ultimately will be buying 4 preferred APs.

Thank you for any advice the US experts can provide :)

I am not an expert by any means but I also read in these threads how to do this. In November I purchased the 2 day 2 park pass with 1 free day from UT using the mouse savers link. I also purchased Disney passes so got an extra discount. My universal pass came to $249 per ticket. On my last day I took the pass to guest services. They gave me the value of a 3 day 2 park ticket: $275. I then upgraded to a seasonal pass. The price for that was $285. So they charged me $10. So I wound up saving around $36 per season pass.

I just bought the 5 day, 3 park ticket from UT. I’m hoping to upgrade it to a Preferred pass in June. So I’d also like to know the cost to do this.
Thanks for asking for this info Long Beach Mike!

What I did was checked the universal website to see the value of my park ticket that I purchased from UT. Then I checked the price of the AP and subtracted the difference. It looks like the 4 day 3 park ticket is $325 and the 5 day is $335. The 3 park preferred AP is $484. So if it works for u like it did for me, guest services will charge u the difference no matter what u paid for them with UT. Good luck and enjoy ur trips.