Splash Mountain "dark" area

4littleones

DIS Veteran
When my kids were younger my son went on splash with his grandparents and freaked about the dark portion of the ride. I haven't been on it in years. I tried to POV Youtube it and while it is very dark, I have no idea what the experience is during that time. Does it go down? Stay straight? Go up? Curve?

Just hoping to prepare my more nervous children. Thanks in advance.

When my kids were younger my son went on splash with his grandparents and freaked about the dark portion of the ride. I haven't been on it in years. I tried to POV Youtube it and while it is very dark, I have no idea what the experience is during that time. Does it go down? Stay straight? Go up? Curve?

Just hoping to prepare my more nervous children. Thanks in advance.
If I remember correctly, there is a drop while in the dark, not a big one. But I can't remember where it is in the ride.
Sorry, not much help. Hopefully others who have ridden it more can give more details

The dark section is when you enter the laughing place portion of the ride, it’s a small double drop. Meaning you go down a small drop then immediately back up a small hill and then another small drop. Hopefully this makes sense.

Thank you! Exactly what I was looking for.

I'd describe that as more of an undulating motion, just rolling smoothly on the track. It's not really meant to be scary, nor do you feel anything in the pit of your stomach like the (spoiler alert) grand finale drop which actually is far more freaky.

The dark section is when you enter the laughing place portion of the ride, it’s a small double drop. Meaning you go down a small drop then immediately back up a small hill and then another small drop. Hopefully this makes sense.