Strength training

UK_Disney_Dopey_Hopeful

Earning My Ears
Hello everyone,

Im just looking for a little advice if anybody feels they can help id be very grateful to hear comments.

Id like to consider myself a "Sometimes runner" i go out 3 times a week and regularly hit 30-35km a week (Climbs to around 40-42km a week when training for a HM)

but apart from actually running i do nothing else to supplement my training. I read a lot about strength training but ive never "pumped iron" or lifted any types of weights ever! (closest i get to lifting weights i suppose is putting the shopping away in the cupboards every week!)

However, i would like to hear what other people do and if there are any suggestions from people where a complete novice can start.

Just to add.... i have no interest in trying to look like Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson (Or similar muscle built sports people). This is just purely to help support my running and hopefully gain a few seconds off each KM) Im planning on having a go at Dopey next year so would like to start any new trials sooner rather later (To avoid any potential new injuries)

Thanks for your time and i look forward to reading about peoples workouts and suggestions. :)

Hello everyone,

Im just looking for a little advice if anybody feels they can help id be very grateful to hear comments.

Id like to consider myself a "Sometimes runner" i go out 3 times a week and regularly hit 30-35km a week (Climbs to around 40-42km a week when training for a HM)

but apart from actually running i do nothing else to supplement my training. I read a lot about strength training but ive never "pumped iron" or lifted any types of weights ever! (closest i get to lifting weights i suppose is putting the shopping away in the cupboards every week!)

However, i would like to hear what other people do and if there are any suggestions from people where a complete novice can start.