The GOAT AP Year of all AP Years Financial Trip Report: Oct 2019 - March 2021

peabody58

I'm just a drummer in a R&R Band!!
The GOAT AP Year of all AP Years Financial Trip Report: Oct 2019 - March 2021

Just finish our 4th AP Year at WDW since the early 90’s, and the 3rd as DVC members.

DW and I (63 yo retirees) started this AP Year in Oct 2019 with plans for a huge family GTG at BLT in Oct 2020. Then Covid happened, and we cancelled our May and Oct reservations. We had a lot of DVC points to use or lose, so with a little luck and wait-listing, we replaced those cancelled trips with 4 new trips in Oct/Dec/Jan/March to best optimize the 5 month extension on our AP/TiW cards.

I kept very detailed financials during this period and the results were very eye-opening and reassuring that our 2010 DVC purchase (BLT 160 pts) was a good value for our vacationing patterns and preferences. YMMV but for us, we are very pleased 11 years later. Hope you number crunches enjoy.

Disclaimers/Notes:

1. 7 trips - mostly Mon-Fri 4 nights each in DVC Deluxe Studios - Standard (1 trip in a 1 BR) 29 DVC nights, 36 days total which include stops at my brother in Polk City, FL. 3 trips we were provided upgraded villas worth an extra 115 points (for renting/OOP costs) which were factored into the analysis.

2. Food Costs include outside the bubble dining (w/my brother/SIL), groceries, non-discounted snacks and meals on the road. Cost of TiW Card ($150) accounted for in Misc/Etc costs.

3. Best Case Cost Analysis: Our actual costs using our DVC, TiW, AP Voucher purchased in 2011 (WDW converted it to a Premium AP w/MM). Only used Maintenance Fees as bases for room cost. Original Buy-In costs/Opportunity Costs are not factored in since we anticipate selling for a profit in 10 years and the math is assumes too many variables.