today is sad..

bunny213

DIS Veteran
this is my first time to post here...My Daughter's husband left today for Iraq. She lives in CA....and I'm in Texas. They have 6 children under 13, and he is AF....I need to call her but I don't know what to say. I know she is hurting and so sad...the children are too..:sad2: .I desparately want to say the right things...but when I think of her and how much she is hurting...I just fall apart. I've read through all your posts...and you all seem so strong and capable.....right now we don't feel that way....does it come? I'm so very worried about them all. Thanks for listening....Barb

this is my first time to post here...My Daughter's husband left today for Iraq. She lives in CA....and I'm in Texas. They have 6 children under 13, and he is AF....I need to call her but I don't know what to say. I know she is hurting and so sad...the children are too..:sad2: .I desparately want to say the right things...but when I think of her and how much she is hurting...I just fall apart. I've read through all your posts...and you all seem so strong and capable.....right now we don't feel that way....does it come? I'm so very worried about them all. Thanks for listening....Barb

Hello! What a wonderful Mom and MIL!!! My suggestion would just be to call and see how she's doing and just LISTEN. Let her vent, etc if she needs to. As for saying that we all seem so strong and capable and asking if that will come later? I believe so. The first time you never know what to expect, how you'll feel, how to help the kids, etc. Each day they'll get stronger and stronger but of course miss their Dad/Husband.

There are so many great ideas for the kids to do while their Dad is gone. One of my favorites is for them each to write down something that happened (everyday do this) on a piece of paper and date it. Then they can put it in a jar (or make a chain link with it). Then when Dad comes home he can read what they did each day (not all in one sitting, lol).