Trip plans gone awry, suggestions needed

Nen_nenny

Earning My Ears
Hello!
Bit of a newbie here, looking for some alternative suggestions from knowledgeable members :wave2:

So I have been doing lots of research into a trip for summer 2022, but due to circumstances out of our control we were only able to book our flights last weekend. We had planned on renting DVC points through an agent, and had a few emails back and forth this weekend and the start of the week checking availability and then they've come back and advised they don't have anyone renting the points we need right now, so we've put ourselves on the waitlist.

Our holiday dates can't be moved, so we need to go from 23rd August - 4th September.

Our latest plans (based on DVC availability) looked like this:
OKW Studio 23rd-27th (52 points)
AKL Studio Savannah View -27th - 29th (38 points)
Poly Studio lake view 29th - 2nd September (118 points)
Loews Universal Royal pacific 2nd - 4th September (~$819)

At $19 per point we were looking at $3952 for Disney + $819 for Universal

We haven't done dvc rental before, and don't feel comfortable renting directly from an owner that we don't have a relationship with, so with DVC renting out the window we're now having to look at other options.
As I see it we have the following options:
1. Cancel the flights (7 day cooling off period until Saturday) and book a package deal, not ideal as we want to do Disney & Universal and this means we will lose the benefit of staying at a Universal Premier hotel & getting express pass OR Disney transport & early hours. Does give us flexibility in moving/cancelling (though I don't see that happening) and confidence in booking process & ease.
2. Book a villa - this would involve us hiring a car, which we hadn't planned on doing and adds a big expense, on top of fuel & parking in the parks, again means we lose the benefits of staying on site.