Undecided about which onsite hotel....

Dagny

DIS Veteran
We are planning on going to DL for the first time (woo hoo) as my DD will be playing in a soccer tournament in San Diego over Thanksgiving.... We will be arriving the Monday before and staying through Turkey Day :)

I keep going back and forth on which resort to stay at.

Kids like the pool at the Disneyland Hotel - I have told them that it will be too cold to swim in November and they keep reminding me that the pools are heated :)

I like the Grand Californian for its location

DH doesn't care, LOL

Since we only have short time there, I really want to maximize on the "magic" which is why I am leaning towards the Grand Californian, but my brain keeps telling me to go with the less expensive option. ARGGGH, I wish I could decide!!!

I would appreciate everyone's likes, dislikes, etc. about each resort. As a complete DL Novice, I am grateful for any insight....

We just got back from the Grand Californian. It is the first and only hotel we have stayed at on the Disneyland property. I agree that its location can't be beat!!! However, the rooms are very blah and really lack in any Disneyness. We were quite disappointed with them!

I'm with you; I LOVE the GCH for its location (and it's style). Don't count on it being too cold to swim; my DS has gone swimming at DL in mid Dec. The pool at GCH is nice and has a slide for the kids too, but I can understand them preferring the Neverland Pool. But, I would think they would also like the shorter walks and being able to dry off after riding Grizzly River Run. Both will be lovely for the holidays, so you can't lose.

Sounds like you are planning on staying 4 nights. Is the 4th night free deal available at both resorts for the nights of your stay? (I've found this may have limited availability). The availability of the hotels might drive your decision.