When family & friends are not supportive or "don't get it" about DVC

Jenniebee

Mouseketeer
Hi - So I have been considering DVC for like 4 years seriously, doing research, learning all about it. But even before that I was always peripherally interested in it like since it was introduced! I am now finally taking the leap and doing this. I thought my extended family (parents/siblings) would be happy like I envisioned us all going together. This is something I want to have for myself and my kids, yes, but also to share, my kids and my sisters kids together on a family vacation, etc. But they are kind of pointing out downsides and reasons to not do it. It's kind of bursting my bubble.

Here are some of the things being said:

-"If you can afford to do this, why not take that money and put it in a savings account?"
-"Do you really want to keep going to Disney every year?" (eye roll) or "Don't you want to go anywhere other than Florida?"
-Regarding resale: "Are you sure it's not a scam? My friend bought a timeshare once and it was a scam/not real"
-"Who will you go with once your kids don't want to go with you anymore?" (I am a single mom)

There is more but this is the highlights.

I thought I would be like let's get a 2 bed villa and we can all go! But this reaction is like uhhhh a bummer...

ugh. I feel for you. DH‘S family is like that..the eye rolls and everything! We invited them all to come with us and got a GV. Their comment as we were in Epcot was ”if you want to go to Italy, why don’t you go to Italy...”.

Bottom line is you are owning for you and you should do what’s right for you. My side of the family bicker over who gets to come with us so that’s not much better..lol!

Congratulations!
I am a single mom too, and my kids have grown up. I've travelled with family and with friends, and solo. I have two solo trips under my belt, and I had a wonderful time on both trips.