Winter boots for lots of walking

pklein09

Winner DVC Trivia Contest April 2006
DH and I are headed to Europe in December 2019 to visit Christmas Markets, among other sites. I know we'll be outside a lot, so I'm going to need decent boots that I can wear all day. I currently have kids LLBean boots (I wear a ladies 6 or Euro 37), so I can get away with kids sizes. They go to just below my knee, and are too bulky to pack in a suitcase.

Any suggestions for comfy, warm, packable boots?

Thanks!

LL Bean Maine Hunting Boot or a comfortable pair of gortex hiking boots. I worked as a electric meter reader for years and wore both of these while walking several miles per day. I never once had wet feet.

I looked at those this morning. Do you have a pair? The tall ones are out of the question - too bulky to pack. My concern is walking a good portion of the day in them.
I have a pair of Sorel boots that are wonderful, but they are incredibly heavy. I wouldn't want to walk around all day in them. Also, I think they might actually be too warm for walking. I wear them at girl scout cookie booths and they keep my feet nice and toasty for those sub-freezing days.

I looked at those this morning. Do you have a pair? The tall ones are out of the question - too bulky to pack. My concern is walking a good portion of the day in them.

Yes I do. Mine are quite bulky but keep my feet warm and dry...sorel caribou. I am going to order some less bulky ones, though, for everyday use. My current ones I only use when there are several inches of snow on the ground.

Thank you all for the replies! I'm hoping to get a pair sooner than later so I have next winter to break them in and make sure I like them.

Check out Bogs. Almost everyone in my town in New England wear them for a good part of the year because they are also waterproof and not too clunky.