2011 Alumni, 2017 Hopeful w. Questions

thatcrazydisneygirl

Mouseketeer
I'm planning on applying for the Spring 2017 Disney College Program. I'm an alumni from Spring 2011. However, I have a few questions.

I've been working in the mental health field for the past four-five years. When I complete the application online, does it want me to list the three most recently held positions or three most relevant? I have a sinking feeling that my work with suicidal adults, drug addicted adolescents, and the homeless may not land me an interview. However, if I'm able to include my history of retail and theme park experience from years prior, I feel more confident.

Also, as I am an alumni, would getting any of my former supervisors to give me a recommendation help or is that not allowed?

I don't remember what the application asked for, but I would list it, while including your previous CP experience too. You can always work in your retail and other customer service jobs into your answers for your phone interview. Even though it's not directly related to Disney, it can show that you have recent work experience, care about other people and can deal with people who might be angry or frustrated. It's also a lot more work experience than a lot of CPs have.

The application only allows 3 recent job history listings, so I would say just pick the most relevant. You can always talk about how you have held a position in the mental health field for a long time in your interview.

I would recommend not going to former supervisors. I know I have alumni friends who have tried to get a little help, and they have been told that there is nothing they can do because DCP hiring is done in it's own little bubble. So unless you worked somewhere where your leaders had a hand in DCP hiring, which I don't know where that would be, you probably won't have much luck.