Any other half-marathon '06 first timers?

mazzypig

Earning My Ears
Just wondering...I impulsively signed up in order to "force" myself to get in shape...traveling to WDW solo for the event (5-11 Jan). I'll be staying at the POR for 4 days, then 2 days off-site. I'm very nervous about finishing...

Im a first timer too. I sign up for the 1/2 as I have always wanted to try...a personal goal. Once signed up, I knew I had to get in shape....I have come a long way but I have a long way to go and only a month left!

Good Luck

Angela

Me too! Just got back from a week in WDW, which put a crimp in my training schedule. I did a LOT of walking, but not much at the right pace, and certainly not for long distances in a single stretch. DH and I did power walk from Space Ship Earth, through Epcot and over to MGM in just over 30 minutes (give or take a few). I am nervous too about maintaining the pace for the entire distance. I am going to give it my best shot!!

I'm a newbie for the 2006 1/2 as well! I am hoping to be able to walk at the required pace for the entire distance. Good luck with your training, mazzypig! So glad to have you on board. Be sure to check out the thread for the Trails End dinner Friday night too. I think there are still spots open!

mazzypig, murcor; wdwfan9: Good luck with your first time. I tried the 1/2 marathon in 2005 with the other WISHwalkers, and had the greatest experience. I was closed out at MK after walking over 10 miles due to pacing; but it still ranks as one of the best experiences of my life.

Because I talked about how wonderful it was, my SIL and I have signed up for the 1/2 marathon for 2006. I have done even less training than last year, and SIL has done even less than I, but we're still going to try.

mazzypig: I did several days solo last year around the 1/2 marathon and LOVED it!!

Have fun and good luck with your training.

Technically a first time--I did the full last year, so my first go at the half.