College Auditions

Happy Dumbo Fan

Earning My Ears
I have my fist acting auditon for college admittance this coming weekend, I have three in all. I wanted some free advice. Have any of you gone through this whole process and do you have any tips?

I would say relax, and be nice to every person you meet at the auditions. (I'm not saying you are mean) Look them in the eye and give them a nice handshake. I used to work auditions when I was in College and sometimes the Department Head, or whomever was giving the audition, would ask how the people in the waiting room were. Don't get sucked in by any people comparing how fabulous they are, and on the flip side don't let them make you nervous. By any chance are you auditioning for Emerson?

Thanks. Yes I am auditioning for Emerson! It's my top choice!! That is the one I am most excited, nervous, and looking foreward too. Did you go to Emerson, Costumesaremylife?

Yes I did go to Emerson. I majored in costume design (surprise). How did your audition go?

Be prepared for questions about your strengths, weaknesses and goals. Also why you chose this particular school. Hope you find the perfect fit.

Also have questions you'd like to ask them--maybe about foreign study opportunities, etc.

a university professor of music

Thanks for the tips! My Syracuse audition went really well, I think I was nervous without a reason to be. My Emerson audition is coming up in a week or so. I'm looking forward to prefoming it for one person and perhaps getting some individual attention. I hear that I should brace myself for NYU since everyone just wants you to hurry up and finish since they have so many people to get though. I was really suprised and happy to find that at Syracuse no one had a stop watch ready to stop me even if I wasn't finished. I don't think I can expect the same from NYU. Anyway, thanks again, the tips are giving me some peace of mind about the whole thing.