• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

DVC newbie needing info on renting.... Thanks!

tommygirl79

DIS Veteran
Please forgive me if this has been asked a gazillion times, but I'm very new to all of the DVC info and I don't know where else to look without breaking posting rules on the DVC rental thread.

My family is planning on a taking a big trip December/Jan. 08 (beginning right after Christmas and leaving first part of the year). We would probably want 5 nights.

It would be: My family (DH, me, DD7, DD5)
DB and family (DB, DSIL, DS3, and possible Baby #2)
and my parents

We would be interested in whatever villa or DVC property would fit all of us (nothing hugely expensive if possible but good enough size).

So, does anyone know which place would be best and which size room/villa? How many points would we need to rent at said place? Is there anywhere that explains this is "DVC for Dummies" language????

Any info available would be GREATLY appreciated!!!! We are WDW vets, just not DVC. Thanks!!!

You might want to start by reading the informational threads at the top of the Rent/Trade Board. They do have a lot of information there about suggestions for renting.

You are talking about a very busy time at WDW and some of the answers to your question will depend on how you want your party housed. If you all want to stay in the same villa - you'd need a Grand Villa (those are available onsite at OKW, BWV and SSR). If you want other configurations, the cost will depend on what type of villa you want (one for each family? , how many in a room?, etc.).