Jambo vs. Kidani?

Missyrose

DIS Veteran
Hi DVCers,
I'm a newbie who is renting points for the first time and I'm looking at staying at AKV. I was wondering if you could tell me the differences between Jambo and Kidani? I know Jambo is located in the main resort building, does that make Jambo harder to get into?

We've stayed at both and prefer Jambo (I don't think it's necessarily harder to get into tho). We use studios and I didn't like the bathroom layout at Kidani. I can't speak to how the bathroom is laid out in larger villas. But in the studios at Kidani there is a main door into the bathroom and there's a "water closet" room with JUST the toilet - but so the sink area is in the room with the tub / shower. At Jambo it is a more common setup with the tub / shower in a room along with the toilet which leaves the sink area out in the main part of the studio - so it's available for use while someone else is using the main bathroom. I guess that's just a little quirk I have but I think it's more useful at Jambo to not have to wait on someone using the shower.

The store at Jambo is also about 5x the size of the one at Kidani. The one at Kidani is dinky and doesn't have much merchandise. Likewise, the lobby at Jambo is most impressive while the one at Kidani is underwhelming at best. Finally, there is no CS restaurant at Kidani so you either need to cook in your villa, make a TS ressie at Sanaa or schlep over to Jambo to go to Boma or to the Mara (the CS place there which is WONDERFUL BTW). (It's about a 10 min. walk between the 2 or you can wait for the bus.)

I can think of 2 Pros for Kidani - which would be the splash play area for little kids if you have toddlers. Also, since the 2 resorts share buses and it is the first bus stop so it's easier to get on the bus at peak times and you're more likely to get a SEAT.

Thanks for the info Annie! We're two adults, so we'll just be in a studio too. Is Jambo hard to get into at the seven-month mark?