Learning Spanish

PolymerSkywalker

DIS Veteran
We have a growing Spanish speaking population in my little town, so I think it’s about time I learn the language. Any recommendations as to the best way to get proficient at simple conversational Spanish? Do the apps and online classes work?

My daughter’s school suggested Duolingo as a brush up on conversational Spanish prior to the capstone trip to Spain where they stayed in home where only Spanish was spoken, took classes and spoke to a class of Spanish kids.

I'm an ESL teacher/coach with a high population of Spanish speakers. I do the free Duolingo and find it helpful. Of course, just day to day conversation and the repetition of listening and interpreting and then attempting to contribute in Spanish seems to stick more in my head but there has to be some foundation for that so I do my daily lessons. I also ask my kids how to say sentences correctly or how to say a particular word in Spanish all the time and those interactions do cement my learning.

Dreaming Spanish has worked great for me. It uses comprensible input as a method to learn a language. You watch videos from super-beginner level (which I was) on up to advanced from a variety of teachers on different topics. The website tracks your progress/minutes watched. I watched everything for free for a long time until I ran out of free ones and now pay $8 a month for the premium content. It’s the only thing I pay for. I’ve been doing that for a a year and a half and I can actually understand a lot of Spanish, from native speakers to tv to radio and actually understand what they are saying, or at least get the gist of it.
I also do a Duolingo lesson everyday, mainly just for the ‘streak’ and accountability. I’ve done that for two years, but consider dreaming Spanish my main ‘teacher.’