New runner help!

mrocco90

Mouseketeer
Hi, I'm new to running and signed up for the jingle jungle 5k. I started trying to run this past week and with in 5 mins I get a terrible side cramp. It hurts so much I struggle to walk. I make sure to run on a empty stomach. Any suggestions on how to avoid this would be greatly appreciated !! thanks!

Hi, I'm new to running and signed up for the jingle jungle 5k. I started trying to run this past week and with in 5 mins I get a terrible side cramp. It hurts so much I struggle to walk. I make sure to run on a empty stomach. Any suggestions on how to avoid this would be greatly appreciated !! thanks!

Have you ever run before? The cramp is probably from lack of training and building up to the 5K and not your stomach contents. You should have eaten at normal times before your 5K to make sure you have enough fuel through out your run.

No I've never been a runner. I try walking first and then jogging but as soon as I start the cramp comes.

No I've never been a runner. I try walking first and then jogging but as soon as I start the cramp comes.

Yep the cramps are from trying too much too fast. When you say you signed up for the 5K is it the one in November or are you hoping on doing the one next year?

Your first few "runs" you need to walk at a slow pace and just go for total time not distance or speed. First try 15 minutes. Then the next time try 20 and 30 and so on. After 2 weeks of that then try to speed it up a little and go a little further each time.

Have you tried something like couch to 5K?

Yeah the 5k is this November. Thanks for the advice I'll try walking the next couple times. I haven't tried couch to 5k but I'm going to look it up now. Thanks!

I'm no physiologist but my guess is the cramps are just a symptom of physical conditioning and should go away.

But one other thing comes to mind from my own experience...and this is going to sound silly but I'm completely serious -are you remembering to breathe?