Pre-Med and Med School?

vtowngrl

Earning My Ears
I have two years left of Highschool, but I think I found a major. Ive been thinking about going into nursing for awhile now, but now Ive been thinking about taking it a step further and going into med school. Is there anyone here that is a premed major or in medschool? I've been trying my best on my own to look up information on it at collegeboard.com and princeton review, but any input about how it is and how much you like it is greatly appreciated. Also, what happens if you decide after college that med school isnt what you want, what do you do with premed as your major? Thanks in advance!

I'm only a pharmacist but DD is currently a second year resident in Family Practice. Pre-med is not a major. There are certain courses necessary to be pre-med, but you can major in just about anything (med schools are looking for some well-rounded individuals, not only science majors). DD majored in Biology and minored in French.

im going into pre-pharm next year...its the same curriculum as pre-med except you go into pharamcy school after two years. its definatly going to be challenging, but im ready for it. do what im doing...take a AP bio or a AP chem and make sure u like the field! im taking AP chem and i know i will enjoy being a pharmacist!

Major in something you like and then get all your premed classes. Like KarenNY said- pre-med isn't a major (although my school had something that looks a lot like it). You'll probably find that you'll go back and forth as to what you want to do with your life once you get to college. I hated chemistry in high school (and didn't do too well in it) but now am a chemistry graduate student working on my Masters!