Q&A for Accepted or Hopeful Fairy Godmothers in Training!

I am an Elementary Education major with a LOT of experience with children. I have no professional experience with hair or make-up, but I do play around with different styles and such on peoples hair as well as my own. I really want to be a FGIT, do you think I would be accepted because of my extensive work with children? I am also being certified in Special Education and have experience with children with disabilities as well. I am looking to apply to the college program next year. I have been dreaming about this role forever and I want more than anything to get it!

I am an Elementary Education major with a LOT of experience with children. I have no professional experience with hair or make-up, but I do play around with different styles and such on peoples hair as well as my own. I really want to be a FGIT, do you think I would be accepted because of my extensive work with children? I am also being certified in Special Education and have experience with children with disabilities as well. I am looking to apply to the college program next year. I have been dreaming about this role forever and I want more than anything to get it!

My daughter is currently a CP FGIT and had no hair or make up experience at all. (She lives in basketball shorts with her hair in a ponytail) In my opinion they look at your work/training experience as the guest experience is their primary concern. You get trained on the hair and make up; they have a system in place for every task so that it is consistent for each "princess". It is a very rewarding job; as my daughter said "its about making the magic not the hair and glitter!" Good luck to you! Doing the CP was a great decision for her and she is now looking to make her career there.