Question about training

R5Jedi

Carrying the Banner
So, I'm pretty determined to do the marathon at next year's marathon weekend. I am a beginner runner but my job is very active and I was a pretty decent distance runner on my high school track team. I am currently a server at a dine in cinema and basically am operating at a quick jog with stops and starts for 7-10 hours a day (the building is HUGE)

Every beginner training plan I see says to start with a couple 30 minute jogs a week and I just feel like with how active I am at work I don't need to build up as much. Does anyone else work an active service job and found you could get a quicker start on a marathon training plan? Thanks!

The specific training is still different than what you are doing. You will find there are some major benefits from your past history and current work as you work in marathon training. You likely can even cut out or reduce some of the overall volume if necessary to accommodate work/life during your marathon training. You are still trying to add 26.2 miles to what you are doing everyday (your current baseline). The training program is designed to build your body above the current baseline toward your marathon goals. Pick a plan and start working through that to see how you feel.

Happy to answer any specific questions and good luck!

I can’t answer specifically about service employees, but if I understand this correctly you’re asking if you can skip ahead to more strenuous training, right? If that’s the case it’s worth a shot, if you feel like it’s too much early on you can always scale back.